4 running in special election for seat in Mississippi House

HATTIESBURG, Miss. (AP) – Four candidates are competing in a nonpartisan special election to fill a seat in the Mississippi House.

Polls are open 7 a.m.-7 p.m. Tuesday in District 102 in parts of Forrest and Lamar counties. If a runoff is needed, it will be Oct. 3.

The candidates are Cory Ferraez, Missy Warren McGee, Casey A. Mercier and Kathryn Rehner.

Republican Toby Barker left the House when he became Hattiesburg mayor July 1 – an office he won as an independent.

The winner of the special election will serve the rest of the term that Barker started. It expires in January 2020. The Mississippi House has 122 members.

(Copyright 2017 The Associated Press. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.)

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s