26 Mississippi counties added to disaster declaration

WPA Road near Burnt Bridge in Lamar county closed due to flooding (WHLT)

ACKSON, Miss. (WHLT) — Twenty-six more counties have been added to the disaster declaration from the March severe floods.

Gov. Phil Bryant’s request for those counties to become eligible for all categories of public assistance was approved Tuesday.

Public Assistance provides reimbursement to state, tribal and local governments, as well as certain non-profit organizations for things like debris removal and repair of damaged infrastructure. Previously 16 counties were approved for Individual Assistance grants to residents for recovery from severe storms and flooding that began March 9.

The counties granted all categories of the Public Assistance program are: Bolivar, Claiborne, Clarke, Coahoma, Covington, Forrest, Greene, Holmes, Jefferson Davis, Jones, Lamar, Leake, Leflore, Lincoln, Marion, Panola, Pearl River, Perry, Quitman, Sunflower, Tallahatchie, Tate, Tunica, Walthall, Washington and Wayne.

Residents in the 16 disaster designated counties for Individual Assistance can register online at www.disasterassistance.gov or by calling 1-800-621-FEMA (3362). The hearing and speech impaired can call 1-800-462-7585 (TTY).

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s