Federal disaster assistance now available for three Mississippi counties

Pearl, Miss. (WHLT) – Three Mississippi Counties are now eligible for disaster assistance following March floods.

Governor Phil Bryant requested the declaration for residents and business owners in Bolivar, Coahoma and Washington counties from President Obama on Wednesday.

“I appreciate the federal government quickly issuing the disaster declaration, and I’m especially grateful for the support of Mississippi’s Congressional Delegation and FEMA Administrator Craig Fugate,” Governor Phil Bryant said.

The disaster declaration allows affected residents in those counties to qualify for FEMA’s Individual Assistance Program. If you live in one of the affected counties, clickhere to begin registering for assistance.

More than 650 Mississippi homes sustained significant damage or were destroyed because of the flooding. Several nonprofit and faith-based organizations and state agencies joined to help people recover from the storms.

Additional counties may be added to the disaster aid list depending on further damage assessments.

For additional information about the assistance, call 1-800-621-FEMA (3362) or 1-800-462-7585 (TTY) for the hearing and speech impaired.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s